A victim of sexual harassment at work in Florida may file a claim against their employer. However, there are certain statute of limitations rules to keep in mind. Someone who works for the federal government must generally file a claim with an EEO counselor within 45 days of the harassment occurring. Furthermore, the complaint must be filed within 15 days of notified by an EEO counselor about the filing process. Those who work for a private employer could have up to 300 days to make a sexual harassment claim.
Private employers are only covered by Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) rules if they have at least 15 employees. Those employees must work at least 20 weeks during a calendar year to qualify for EEOC sexual harassment claim purposes. Complaints can be filed either online or at an EEOC office, and they can also be sent to an EEOC office by mail.
Charges filed with the EEOC may also be filed with the Fair Employment Practices Agency (FEPA). This could maximize the chances that an individual is protected under both federal and state workplace harassment laws. Regardless of whether a person works for the government or in the private sector, a claim will need to describe the events that they believe to constitute sexual harassment. A claim will also need to be signed by the victim or the victim’s attorney.
Pursuing a sexual harassment claim in Florida may be easier with legal assistance. A lawyer could also come in handy if pursuing claims of retaliation or wrongful termination against an employer after a claim is made. A worker may use text messages, voicemail messages or comments from managers as potential proof that harassment occurred. If a claim is successful, an individual may receive a financial award or reinstatement to a former position.